Use different sound devices for mic/speaker

HI folks,

I’m completely new to Rhasspy - was messing around with Snips until Sonos got their hands on it…

Now I managed to get 2 instances of Rhasspy running, one on my homeserver running a docker container on debian and the other on a Pi 3b also running docker.

I followed the instructions for a Server/Satelite setup over MQTT and the communication seems to work - I can sniff mqtt packets via MQTT.fx.

What is not working is my audio on the Pi - I try to use a C-Media compatible USB-Soundcard for speakers and a Samson USB-Mic for recording.

lsusb

tells me

Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0d8c:0014 C-Media Electronics, Inc. Audio Adapter (Unitek Y-247A)
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 17a0:0120 Samson Technologies Corp. Meteorite condenser microphone

and if I dmesg | grep these I get

[    4.786076] usb 1-1.4: Manufacturer: C-Media Electronics Inc.
[    4.795578] input: C-Media Electronics Inc. USB Audio Device as /devices/platform/soc/3f980000.usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.4/1-1.4:1.3/0003:0D8C:0014.0001/input/input0
[    4.866949] hid-generic 0003:0D8C:0014.0001: input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.00 Device [C-Media Electronics Inc. USB Audio Device] on usb-3f980000.usb-1.4/input3

and

[    6.868042] usb 1-1.2: Product: Samson Meteorite Mic
[    6.868104] usb 1-1.2: Manufacturer: Samson Technologies
[    6.958346] input: Samson Technologies Samson Meteorite Mic as /devices/platform/soc/3f980000.usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.2/1-1.2:1.2/0003:17A0:0120.0002/input/input1
[    7.038685] hid-generic 0003:17A0:0120.0002: input,hidraw1: USB HID v1.00 Device [Samson Technologies Samson Meteorite Mic] on usb-3f980000.usb-1.2/input2

in alsa.conf I configured C-Media as default device.

if I do a

speaker-test -c2

my speakers are running but I have no sound inside Rhasspy

arecord -l says

**** Liste der Hardware-Geräte (CAPTURE) ****
Karte 1: Device [USB Audio Device], Gerät 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Sub-Geräte: 1/1
  Sub-Gerät #0: subdevice #0