State of Microphones?

Several years ago, when I first started on my speech recognition project I was just using a Yeti USB microphone. However, then the Matrix Voice came along, that look like exactly what I wanted so I got one and I have been using it for a couple of years now.

But recently, it seems like the community/the project behind it may be dead or dying. So I’m wondering whether it might be time for a change. I have taken a look around, and I have seen that a few people are using Matrix microphones like me, several people are using ReSpeaker microphones, and some people are using USB microphones.

I was hoping to get opinions from people. Of the products that are available now, what do you think are the best ones and why? I would like to have something that can handle recognition from a distance and in the presence of noise, similar to what the big brand assistants can (Amazon Echo, Google Home, etc.). Having LEDs is nice, but not the most important thing to me.

The Yeti is OK if using win / mac but a lot of the goodies and software are missing on linux.

There are a whole rake of Matrix like microphones that have these arrays that are a whole duplication of worthless ness unless you move up to the higher price USB built DSP models.

One of the biggest problems is noise and array microphone such as respeaker with no beaming algs are just that duplicate omnidirectional mics so noise from all angles is treated equally.
Unidirectional have various polar patterns cardioid / suoer cardioid and its all about how much they reject from the rear and sides.

If you have no algs to create a polar pattern then get a mic with a polar pattern as without they are highly susceptible to noise.
Even mics and packages that come with AEC only cancel what is being played through that capture card / mic.