Rhasspy 3 with Piper/Whisper over Wyoming?

I’m new to the HA world, but have given myself a mission to replace the Alexa devices in the house with something have more control over.

I currently have a Pi4 running HAOS, and Piper and Whisper running in containers on my NAS (which happens to also be a giant bucket of x86 cores). Voice is working fine with an Atom Echo running ESPHome, but I’d like to migrate to Rhasspy with a couple of satellites so I get wakeword detection. I have the Rhasspy3 addon installed, and can get a satellite pointed at it (and wakeword detection is working), but I’m a bit lost as to how to configure Rhasspy3 to use the Wyoming servers for TTS and STT.

Could someone point me at a config snippet (or doc that I’ve missed) that shows how to do this?

Many thanks!
-Zandr

1 Like

Hi @zandr,

I have the same problem than you.
Did you successfully configure the Rhasspy3 to use Wyoming servers?

Many thanks,

HA Voice Assist is essentially Rhasspy v3 (well, when I upgraded to HA Voice Assist Chapter 5 last month the URLs were the rhasspy GIThub repository :wink: ), and Mike’s focus has been mostly on the HA implementation.

Are you wanting local wakeword detection on an Atom Echo ? My understanding is that the Echo just doesn’t have enough power to do that well enough - so wakeword detection is done on the HA server. It is maybe a little slower, and sends all audio over the wi-fi - but does the job.

Or which hardware device are you wanting to use as a satellite ? You didn’t say. The S3 Box and Raspberry Pi already can run openwakeword locally.

Or are you confusing Rhasspy (the voice assistant software) with Raspberry Pi (the hardware device) ?

If you are wanting to use Rhasspy with Home Assistant, I suggest that Voice Assist in the HA forum will give you more and better information.

I haven’t touched this project since last September, but now wouldn’t be a bad time to pick it up.