Mic Arrays are rubbish

Sure that will act as bait for some and not sure why microphone arrays have perked my interest so much since my introduction to Mycroft, they just have.

I am not a sound engineer, I did a bit of audio late teens but that was a long time ago.

Firstly to pull the bait array microphones without fancy dsp are just an array of microphones.
As libs on a Pi3/4 you can do echo cancellation which is handy but apart summing the array which also sums noise many of the non DSP microphone arrays we have are practically pointless.
On a zero the load is too heavy even for Echo Cancellation (EC) and all you can do is increase sensitivity.

Increasing sensitivity is OK for far field in a silent room but apart from that its also pointless as any louder volume source will just swamp the signal and that sensitivity will count for nothing.

Even many of the DSP often USB mics are not that great but they are getting better, but even then with inbuilt EC they still suffer from other non distributed noise sources.
Meaning if your voice is the predominant noise source they work quite well, but against singular competing noise sources not so and the problem with home TV & HiFi are those types of noise source.

As well as being critical of for many options of array, omni directional without DSP is also pretty poor as without DSP you don’t have any form of control.

If you don’t have DSP then actually uni-directional cheap old electrets plugged into a cheap USB sound card especially on a zero or where your struggling with load for EC can be much better.
Its not high tech but they just have holes in the back so sound waves hit the back of the diaphragm and act as noise cancellation and give directionality.

The directionality actually gives you some form of control but again making your own gets a bit geeky as you have to tune a mic so that you sound waves are tuned to cancel.