Hardware specification checlist

Hello community,

I am new to the world of Rhasspy and voice assistants however am looking to try and get some feedback or assistance please on hardware? I am bewildered by the collective knowledge here. I especially like the posts by @rolyan_trauts and @romkabouter in this space.

I have been having an extensive read of prior forum posts similar to my request but they all seem to be back in mid 2020, prior to the release of the most recent Rhasspy version.

I am looking to obtain hardware for a setup of master/satellite configuration. My master will be a 2014 Mac Mini running ubuntu 20.4. I will be looking to have 5 satellites from this server eventually, but first to have 2.

My use case is as follows:

• Voice commands to run/activate my homeassistant commands
  • Streaming audio to multiple speakers at the same time (white noise for sleep for 3 bedrooms) - Speakers are available to be used - bluetooth speakers that have aux in
  • Respond to weather requests from my home weather station

I was assuming from initial reading that I could use a pi zero w and respeaker 2 mic but am now concerned that this will not support snapcast and rhasspy satellite? Having read posts from may 2020 it seemed that the CPU load pushed the zero w to 100% using this setup but I think this was before the slimming down of the snowboy wakeword files for intent recognition?

I am not adverse to soldering but have not done so in quite some years… I am after advice from anyone that may have a similar setup as to whether I should be looking at a pi3a+ onwards or if I could get away with the pi zero w?

Alternatively, if it is something that may be feasible with the M5 Atom Echo and an ESP32-WROVER board running Squeezelite? My only concern would be cancellation or lowering of broadcast sound to incoming wakeword with this setup.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as to most cost effective but workable solution.