Build a rhassy virtual assistant

Dear everyone
I’m doing an assignment as a virtual assistant Rhasspy that can answer some basic questions like what time is it or what’s the weather like today. I actually tried to figure out how to do it but the result is still nothing. I came here hoping someone could give me a detailed step-by-step guide as I’m not very good at this myself. Hope everyone can understand and give me the necessary help
Thank you very much.

Try this:

and this

1 Like

Ah, the old “get someone else to do my homework for me” ?

And if not, you could start by telling us what you have figured out for yourself, and how far you have got

No, thats bs. Rhasspy isnt that easy, at least the documentation isnt. I’ve also struggeled. Its the lack of mircophone testing abilities at the UI. It isnt just easy to spot the wrong settings.

Nobody said it is easy. That’s the nature of FOSS software - developers would rather be coding the next feature than writing user documentation. If you want user documentation and support, then you should expect to pay for it … aka commercial software.

It took me 3 starts over 12 months to get Home Assistant working, and I learned the lesson of “attempt only one learning curve at a time”. I also struggled with Rhasspy for quite a while, especially the base-satellite model … had to read pretty much all the Rhasspy documentation 3 times before it started falling into place.

Recognising that multiple “satellite” microphone/speaker units connected to a central “base” unit is logical, but it is not well explained, I started writing a tutorial … and at about page 30 I realised it’s actually a combination of 6 separate topics. It’s currently 35 pages but not finished yet :frowning: . And @synesthesiam hasn’t been seen here for a while so I’m guessing that he’s hard at work on Rhasspy v3 … which will make my document invalid. Cest la vie.