Answer intent with mp3

I am trying to get my speakers to answer an intent with a sound, an mp3 file. I have a main server and then a few rpi satellites. I have a python script that handles the intents. So i create an MQTT client and connect to a broker.

I normally answer intents with a sentence and it gets published to hermes/tts/say. the little code snippet is below

site_id = nlu_payload["siteId"]
sentence = "answer to the intent"
client.publish("hermes/tts/say", json.dumps({"text": sentence, "siteId": site_id}))

So I was thinking there would be a different client.publish I could do for the mp3. something like

sound = /path/to/mp3
client.publish("hermes/tts/say", json.dumps({"audio": sound, "siteId": site_id}))

But I am a little new with the hermes stuff so i wasnt sure if that was possible

I have seen other threads that mention cmd line commands that can be run. But wasnt sure what the requestID is or how to get it. Also not sure if that will work in a python script

mosquitto_pub -p 12183 -t hermes/audioServer/$siteId/playBytes/$requestId -s < /path/to/file.wav

or the hermes audio server. So i was thinking could i use hermes/audioServer/siteId/playBytes/requestId as the first part of the client.publish() but with the variables it expects, I wasnt sure how that would work.

So if anyone has got this to work before I would be grateful to learn how you did it

Thanks for the help!

mosquitto_pub -p 12183 -t hermes/audioServer/$siteId/playBytes/$requestId -f '/path/to/file.wav'

Hey Jens,

I have seen that before. would that work in a python script? this is an example of how I process an intent asking what day it is

if ("Day" == nlu_payload["intent"]["intentName"]):
    sentence = datetime.date.today().strftime('%A, %B %d, %Y')
    client.publish("hermes/tts/say", json.dumps({"text": sentence, "siteId": site_id}))

So would I be able to take that command and do something like below?

if ("Day" == nlu_payload["intent"]["intentName"]):